University of Pretoria

The University of Pretoria is hailed as the university with the highest research output in South Africa since 1996 and used to be the largest residential university in the country.

The University of Pretoria has its origins in the Transvaal University College which was founded in 1908. The university's colloquial name, Tuks, comes from the acronym of that college - TUC.

UP now has over 50 000 students enrolled at its six campuses, within its nine faculties and 1800 academic programmes. It also has control over a number of museums, an experimental farm, sport facilities and the Gordon Institute of Business Science. The main campus in Hatfield houses the oldest interactive Science Centre in South Africa, Sci-Enza as well as the popular campus radio station Tuks FM.

Other important universities in Pretoria include the Tshwane University of Technology (TUT) and the University of South Africa (UNISA).

We have 7 guests online